The Accidental Vegan

I am always surprised when I look down at my plate and I’ve made something vegan. My standard assessment of veganism is that I don’t believe in it, the same way that Mormons don’t believe in homosexuality. But just because you don’t believe in something doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist. Last night’s dinner, for example, the one I cooked while my little nephew in Durango cheered me on, contained absolutely no animal products. If I’d realized it at the time, I probably would have grated some parmesan on top, or cooked the veggies in some lard instead of oil. (No, that’s silly, the smoke point would be too high…) [addendum: I remembered later that I mixed in some fish sauce with the pasta dish, in lieu of a couple of anchovies. Not vegan. Whew.]

Anyway. Tonight’s dinner came very close to falling into the same trap, but was saved by honey.

Tonight, J. came over, for what is bound to be one of our last dinner-and-Alias nights, as she has made the decision to move to Washington, D.C. I hope we’ll have a bunch more dinners before the move, at least enough to finish watching season 1…

Our first course was Japanese Spinach with Sesame Dressing which is definitely one for the recipe box. (not an actual box) We subbed in mirin for saki because, guess what? That’s what I had. And it was delish.

Media_http2bpblogspot_fxkya

Then, in an effort to make a dent in the stash of beets in my fridge, we did a version of Gingered Millet with Roasted Beets that also turned out pretty well, I think, and definitely increased my confidence in the beet-cooking department. I confess that I frequently buy those little French imported pouches of roasted, peeled baby beets, because cooking them is so daunting. I once tried to boil some and accidentally let the water boil off and almost ruined the pan. And gave myself a steam burn.

But thanks to this recipe, I now have better technique. It also helps to start with smallish beets. Scrub them, but leave on the tail and just the very end of the stems, and stick them in a baking dish with some water and a bit of salt. Then cover it up with parchment and a layer of foil (honestly not sure why both are necessary, but I’m not going to mess with something that works) and bake until they’re tender.

Media_http2bpblogspot_stchw

These were chiogga beets, a.k.a. candy-striped beets, which are not as striking as red ace beets but are still very pretty. Especially with wheat berries and yellow cherry tomatoes, and fresh basil and mint. The dressing has red wine vinegar, ginger, and honey (whew, not vegan).

Media_http4bpblogspot_vgfch

I think I’m going to need to start planning a farewell dinner party for J. I know she wanted to learn to cook more vegetarian meals, but it’s probably going to involve some meat, because I will always think of her as a carnivore. Suggestions welcome.

Leave a comment