Soup and Salad

The year 2010 was one big crescendo* for me. Very gradually, but steadily, the year improved, from starting in a Very Bad Place (not literally–January 1st was spent in Colorado with my nephew E. and not much can top that) to ending in a very happy one, with many small and large steps along the way to get me there. I know a lot of people were happy to see the end of this past year, and while I’m glad to be starting the new one, I look back on 2010 very fondly. November and December in particular were decadent months to say the least. There was a very quick trip to Zurich, a very grand 30th birthday party, a wonderful Thanksgiving, a series of holiday parties, friends visiting, lots of cookies, actual Christmas, and New Year’s. All of which left me with the feeling that I could really use another detox week. And not just because I have a perpetual craving for carrot-ginger dressing and miso soup.

It’s not destined to happen this week, though. I’ve had dinner at Sushi Yasuda with P., dinner at Momofuku Ssam Bar with S. (and, yes, dessert at Milk Bar), and there’s another round of cook club coming next weekend. So until I can find 7 eventless days in a row, I will be grateful that my fellow French Fridays bloggers voted to start 2011 with Dorie’s Paris Mushroom Soup. It is simple, savory, delicious, and (importantly) not overly rich.

After sauteing some onions and garlic in a small (no, really) amount of butter, add some sliced mushrooms, and then fresh herbs and chicken broth. Simmer for, oh, a while.

Media_httpfarm6static_hzjdj

The tricky part is the pureeing. I have found that my food mill is not the miracle “stop spattering hot soup all over my kitchen” tool I was hoping it would be, unless you’re working with something that basically falls apart on its own, like winter squash. So I pulled out the blender, doing an eensy bit at a time, and holding down the lid with a tea towel, which makes all the difference in the world.

And then while the soup was heating back up, I assembled the “salad” portion of the meal, which conveniently goes in the same bowl. A bit more sliced mushrooms, some chopped scallions, chives, and parsley, and then pour the soup right on top. (I did not go for the optional creme fraiche, on account of I didn’t have any and I’m pretending to inch away from holiday decadence.)

Media_httpfarm6static_wyoky

The soup is delicious, if not especially pretty. It should not come as a surprise that the photo accompanying the recipe is of the ingredients, not of the finished product.

*I’ve been sneaking musical terms into my everyday speech lately. Not sure exactly why. I’ve described my rock-climbing sessions as a sforzando, though I’m hoping as my stamina improves, that’ll shift to a decrescendo.

1 thought on “Soup and Salad

Leave a comment