V-Day

C. and I were in agreement that Valentine’s Day should be a low-key affair, which meant staying in and cooking dinner together. I know the nature of the holiday is to celebrate being a couple, but I took the liberty of planning the meal on my own. Since one half of the couple is participating in French Fridays with Dorie (and the other half is frequently enjoying the results), it made sense to incorporate this week’s pancetta green beans. And then let the rest of the menu follow naturally.

Media_httpfarm6static_ehbaf

The rest of that menu being:

pan-seared scallops with wasabi butter sauce (using about 2/3 of the butter that’s called for because, seriously)
roasted garlic mashed potatoes (red potatoes, skins on, so we had something festively pink on the plate)

Media_httpfarm6static_cowal

And for dessert, meringue cookies with toasted cocoa nibs. (We had to do SOMEthing with all the egg whites I amassed making ice cream for the upcoming cook club. And C. had never made meringues before.)

Hope you all had equally lovely nights this past Monday!

1 thought on “V-Day

  1. I like the idea of celebrating Valentine’s Day at home – going to a restaurant is an overpriced nightmare.I bet my husband would pick your menu for his celebratory dinners any time – he is a scallops fiend:)

Leave a comment